BlackBerry names 10 young women scholars

Alicia Keys, BlackBerry global creative director

BlackBerry has named the 10 young women recipients of the BlackBerry Scholars Program, aimed at inspiring more women to enter the mobile computing industry and pursue careers in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

The recipients will receive full, four-year university tuition scholarships to the school of their choice for degrees in STEM-related fields, as well as mentorship and professional opportunities.

Women are vastly underrepresented in STEM industries, and collectively we need to do everything we can to encourage more women to pursue careers in these fields,” said Alicia Keys, BlackBerry global creative director. 

The program, announced in May 2013, received more than 500 applications from 65 countries over a two-month period.

Each recipient was selected for her academic merit and passion for entering the mobile computing industry.

Recipients include Katherine Chen (United States), who will be pursuing her degree in Applied Mathematics and Computer Science at Harvard College; Tafadzwa Makaza (South Africa), Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Coventry University in the United Kingdom; Anastasia Santasheva (Canada), Systems Design Engineering at the University of Waterloo;

Tian Qi (Dinah) Shi (Canada), Software Engineering at the University of Waterloo; Leah Clark (UK), in Computer Science at Durham University; Rozie Yeghiazarian (US), Mechanical Engineering at the Rochester Institute of Technology; Khuyen Duong (Vietnam), Computer Science at Oklahoma State University in the US;

Aneesha Kommineni (US), Computer Science at the University of Texas; Sravya Vishnubhatla (US), Biological Engineering and Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and Xiao Yan (Cheyenne) Guo (Canada), Mathematics at the University of Waterloo.